Users are the heart of Let’s Talk!, providing members of the community with information and service. While your roll-out plan will help to decide which team members are brought on as Users at each phase, you’ll decide which permissions and Interest Areas are appropriate for each of your colleagues, based on their roles in the district.

Adding Users

Adding Users to support your Interest Areas can be completed either one-by-one or by uploading a spreadsheet of many district team members at once.

Add a User Individually

  • Click the Edit button found in the top right-hand corner of the page.
  • Click the Add User button.
  • Fill out the Add User form with the necessary information.
  • You may assign the User to an Interest Area by selecting the relevant check box(es). Select the key icon in front of the check box to further identify the User as the owner of the interest area. You may also assign the User to a User Group.
  • The activation email and password can be sent to the user in this step. If you prefer, uncheck the box to send the activation email later. Please note: If you leave this box checked, the user will receive an activation email and have access to his or her Let’s Talk! account.

Importing Users

  • Click the Edit button found in the top right-hand corner of the page.
  • Click the Import User button  to import new users.
  • A sample template is available for download in Step 1 of the Import User Wizard.
    • User lists need to be in an .xls or .xlsx file format.
    • Following the Sample User Template, separate each user’s name, email, title, role, User Group, Interest Area, and Interest Area ownership by column. Multiple Interest Areas or Interest Area ownerships listed for a single user should be separated by a semicolon (;) within the same column.
  • Browse for your list on your computer, select the file, and click next.
  • In step 3 of the Import User wizard, you’ll see your Import User Summary, which will let you know how many Users were uploaded, and if there are any duplicates, or Users with blank values in their entry.
  • If you’re happy with your Import User Summary, click Upload to upload the u=User list to Let’s Talk!.

Send Activation Emails

When adding a User to Let’s Talk!, a System Administrator can control when that User receives his or her username and password. Therefore, System Administrators can control when new Users can access their Let’s Talk! accounts.

To send an activation email immediately upon adding a user, a System Administrator may fill out the User’s information and leave the box next to “Send Activation email and password to user” checked.

Under Settings > Users, any User who has not received an activation email is noted with a gray check icon under the Status column. Next to the icon, a link allowing the System Administrator to send the Activation email individually is available.

To send a User or multiple Users an activation email with username and password, follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Settings.
  • Click Users under Account Setup on the left-hand menu.
  • Click the Edit button in the top-right hand corner.
  • Select one or more Users by clicking the checkbox next to the appropriate name(s).
  • Click the Send Activation Email button to send the User(s) login information.
  • Click the Save button in the top right-hand corner.

Edit User Information

  • Click the Edit button found in the top right-hand corner of the page.
  • Select the User or group of Users you would like to edit.
  • Click the Edit button, make any necessary changes within the Edit User Information window, and click Save Changes.

If an email address is edited, an email will be sent to the both the former and updated email address informing the user that his or her email address has been changed. The User will be required to log into Let’s Talk! and create a new password.

Permission Levels

Let’s Talk! has been designed to maximize collaboration across teams typically found within a school system. User permissions allow security and data protection but also encourage appropriate team workflow. See the tables below for information on the various User permissions found within Let’s Talk!.

User Levels & Permissions

RoleFunctionSpecificsPermission
System Administrator Control settings Full access to Settings to customize account, including Interest Areas, Users, Messages View all Dialogues, reports
Global User Overview of account Limited access to Settings View all Dialogues, reports
Team Owner Point person for content area One per team
Receives alert for new Dialogue and determines action
Limited access to Settings
View only team Dialogues, reports
Team Member Content area expert Available to help respond to Dialogues, as determined by team owner
View only team Dialogues, reports
Recorder Enter new content Not responsible for follow-up
Limited access to Settings
Views only Dialogues he/she has entered

User Groups

To make groups of Users searchable, you may choose to enable User Groups. These groups can be found when a Customer uses the search bar on a landing page. Entering the name of a group (e.g. Special Education Department) will display the list of Users belonging to that group.

Add User Group

  • Navigate to Settings, then click on Users under Account Setup on the left-hand menu.
  • Click the green Edit button in the top-right hand corner.
  • Click the blue User Group button at the top of the page.
  • Click in the gray bar that says Enter User Group, then choose + Add User Group from the dropdown menu.
  • Name your User Group (Smith High School, Special Education Department, etc.) by typing the name in the Enter User Group bar.
  • Choose the Users to be added to this group by checking the boxes in front of their names. Find the relevant names by reviewing the box or by using the Search feature.
  • Click on the green Save Changes button to confirm your new group.
  • Click the Save button in the top right-hand corner of the User Settings screen.

Edit User Group

  • Navigate to Settings, then click on Users under Account Setup on the left-hand menu.
  • Click the green Edit button in the top-right hand corner.
  • Click the blue User Group button at the top of the page.
  • Click in the gray bar that says Enter User Group, then choose the appropriate User Group from the dropdown menu.
  • Hover over the name of your selected User Group, then click on the pencil icon that appears to the right. Make the appropriate changes.
  • Click on the green Save Changes button to confirm your updated settings.
  • Click the Save button in the top right-hand corner of the User Settings screen.

Delete User Group

  • Navigate to Settings, then click on Users under Account Setup on the left-hand menu.
  • Click the green Edit button in the top-right hand corner.
  • Click the blue User Group button at the top of the page.
  • Click in the gray bar that says Enter User Group, then choose the appropriate User Group from the dropdown menu.
  • Hover over the name of your selected User Group, then click on the pencil icon that appears to the right. Remove all of your Users from this Group.
  • Click on the green Save Changes button to confirm your updates.
  • Return to the same menu, clicking the blue User Group button.
  • In the gray Enter User User Group bar, choose the appropriate User Group.
  • Hover over the name of your selected User Group, then click on the X icon that appears to the right. Note: You will need to delete Users from your Group before you are able to delete the Group.
  • Click OK to confirm that you want to delete this User Group.
  • Click on the green Save Changes button to confirm your new group.
  • Click the Save button in the top right-hand corner of the User Settings screen.

Notes on User Groups:

  • A User must belong to an Interest Area (member or owner) be added to a user group.
  • When a Dialogue is sent directly to a User, it will be assigned to the first interest area the User owns, as listed in Settings.
  • If the User does not own an interest area, the Dialogue will be assigned to the first interest area of which the User is a team member, as listed in Settings.